How to stand out. No, seriously.

16 Aug

Establishment wasn’t too pleased when punks came about, back in the 1970’s and 80’s. The punk movement was about being young, rebellous, and – perhaps most importantly – different.
Or was it?

One punkishly-clad person might’ve stood out in a mass of plain looking people, but likely wouldn’t have looked as peculiar next to his peers. People like looking similar, just to make sure they belong somewhere. It’s the most appealing aspect of a subculture.

Over the past 25 years, most people who wear clothing that’s considered typically “punk” simply copy their predecessors. Thus, it’s been a long time since punk fashion was last truly considered shocking or edgy.

The punk aesthetic has been adapted to fit other moulds; Avril Lavigne turned it into something befitting of a teen popstar, and fashion powerhouses Carine Roitfeld and Kate Lanphear aren’t shying away from a little punk in their wardrobes either.

There is, however, one fashion consolidation I have yet to come across:

That’s right, pearls and a mohawk. I’ve never seen pearls paired with anything “rebellous” really.
Lace, the other thing boys refuse to wear, has an erotic feel to it at times, but pearls haven’t. They’re sweet and pure.

Dessin de moi.

5 Responses to “How to stand out. No, seriously.”

  1. Angela Donava August 25, 2011 at 1:53 PM #

    Super dessin;)

    Angela Donava
    http://www.lookbooks.fr

  2. Anna September 3, 2011 at 4:05 PM #

    Jolie coiffure:)
    Anna
    http://123blogmode.com

  3. absolutelyfaaabulous September 17, 2011 at 6:47 PM #

    Hi there.. sorry I have not been in touch much recently. I had crazy long holidays. Anyway, back now. Your dessins sont tres tres beaux!! I am myself going to start a painting and drawing classes.. so need some inspiration!

    http://absolutelyfaaabulous.wordpress.com/

    • Sarah September 17, 2011 at 7:54 PM #

      Hey there! It’s okay, I haven’t been posting much because my non-blogging life has gotten too busy!
      I really hate it though, and I want to somehow create some time for me to blog once a week at the very least… I love the blogosphere and I don’t want to be absent.
      Good luck on your drawing classes! As soon as my schedule is less hectic I want to take some courses in French because my current French is just “bien” but not “impressionnant”!

  4. Lucija November 20, 2011 at 5:45 PM #

    I think you have an amazing amazing blog. This post is one of my favourite yet!Follow each other? :)

    XO,
    Lucija
    WLL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

